Posted in (unnamed)

Scent of a Woman

I finished watching this drama from 2011 over the weekend and I totally fell in love with it. Everytime I read “terminal illness” in any drama synopsis, I usually stay away from it. The only exception is when it's a movie. I could just sit through and hour and a half and that's fine by me. In fact my favorite movies include Dying Young, A Walk to Remember and a lot more. Sixteen hours? That's a different story. But this drama was different.It made me cry, laugh and appreciate life. This drama is a must watch!

The story revolves around a spinster named Lee Yeon Jae played by Kim Sun Ah. I loved Kim Sun Ah in My Name is Kim Sam Soon. She has been working in a travel company for 10 years. Yeon Jae is treated like a doormat by everyone and accepts it without qualms and protest. During the first episode you'll already feel how miserable her life is made by the people around her. She is diagnosed with gallbladder cancer and was told that she only has a few months to live.

When it rains it pours. She gets the diagnosis and she gets accused of stealing a client's ring. Obviously our heroine did not steal anything.Because of her diagnosis she feels she has nothing more to lose she starts to stand up for herself. She decided to resign and try to have a life. Yeon Jae's dad died from cancer and she knows how hard it is for everyone. She decided not to tell anyone of her diagnosis.

She decides to go on a vacation to Japan and gives herself a makeover.She accidentally meets the son of her former boss. Lee Dong Wooks plays Kang Ji Wook. I adored him in MY GIRL but he is to die for in this drama. Kang Ji Wook is the CEO's son who lives his life under his father's commands. He is unmotivated and goes through the motions of everyday life without joy.

Fate steps in and they ended up seeing Okinawa together.

 

 

Their lives get tangled up just like the tango. Ji Wook is arrange to marry a chaebol's daughter who happens to be the woman who accuse Yeon Jae stealing the ring.

They get back to reality and ends up falling for each other.

What I love about the characters is that they have to learn something about living life. They go on a journey of finding love but also self- discovery. As Yeon Jae completes her bucket list I'm also reminded of the things that I should be grateful for.

 

The emotional journey of a cancer patient was quite realistic in this drama. It was well done. If you haven't seen this drama the question that must be in your mind would be “How was the ending?”. The ending was satisfying and lovely. One of the best endings that I have seen.

 

 

Author:

You can reach me through chippybluefangirl@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Scent of a Woman

  1. The same thing had kept me away from this drama….but as you mentioned that the ending is lovely, I’m definitely gonna watch it now as I really like Lee Dong Wook and Eom Ki Joon…and the show looks beautiful!

    Like

    1. You are definitely going to love it. Lee Dong Wook is amazing in this drama not to mention being handsome and sexy. I’d love to hear your thoughts once you’ve seen this drama. πŸ˜ƒ

      Like

  2. I also just finished watching this drama. I browsed here b/c of Hotel King recaps, but saw Scent of Woman post and had to mention how much I enjoyed this drama. Obviously I’m binging on Lee Dong Wook right now.

    They had such a lovely chemistry. His aloof character that starts to live and her amazing journey were a total treat.

    Like

    1. Thanks for browsing and leaving a comment. This makes me happy. Would love to hear the opinions of others. πŸ™‚ Lee Dong Wook deserves your attention. πŸ™‚ He is really good. Scent of A Woman was such a lovely drama.

      Like

Leave a comment